Go to top of page

Our governance

TEQSA Commissioners sitting at table

TEQSA Commission

Our Commissioners are appointed by the Commonwealth Minister for Education based on their expertise in higher education quality assurance and regulatory practice. Commissioners are responsible for making regulatory decisions, setting strategic directions, monitoring risk in the sector and deciding on matters relating to the development of our quality assurance and regulatory functions. The Commissioners are TEQSA's accountable authority.

TEQSA's Commissioners also inform the higher education sector about our work and the responsibilities of higher education providers under the Australian Government’s regulatory system. Our Commissioners are: 

Professor Nick Saunders AO (Chief Commissioner)

Nicholas Saunders TEQSA Chief Commissioner

Professor Saunders was previously Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor of Bond University, having taken up this position after retiring as Vice-Chancellor of the University of Newcastle, Australia. His other senior academic roles include: Dean of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences at Monash University (1998-2003); Head of the Faculty of Health Sciences and Dean of Medicine, Flinders University (1993-1998); Professor of Medicine at the University of Newcastle (1983-1993); and positions at McMaster University, Canada and Harvard University, USA.

Professor Saunders holds a medical degree with first class honours from the University of Sydney and has been influential in the advancement of medical education and research through his extensive contribution to, and participation on, many higher education, research and health care national committees, councils and State Government bodies.

During his career, Professor Saunders has been Chair of the National Health and Medical Research Council; a member of the Higher Education Council, the Prime Minister’s Science, Engineering and Innovation Council, the Australian Research Council and the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Council; Chair of the Committee of Deans of Australian Medical Schools; Chair of the Postgraduate Medical Council of NSW; member of the Board of Universities Australia and Lead Vice-Chancellor for research and international activities; and member of the Victorian Premier’s Council for Knowledge, Innovation, Science and Engineering, and the 2011 Ministerial Review of Health and Medical Research in NSW.

Professor Saunders was a member of the Council of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians and Chair of the College’s Board of Continuing Education. He currently holds the part-time position of Chair of the Repatriation Medical Authority of Australia.

In 2012, he was appointed an Officer in the Order of Australia in recognition of his contribution and distinguished service to medicine and higher education.

Emeritus Professor Cliff Walsh (part-time Commissioner)

Cliff Walsh TEQSA Commissioner

After completing undergraduate and graduate degrees in economics at the London School of Economics, Emeritus Professor Cliff Walsh initially came to Australia in 1969 as a PhD Scholar at the Australian National University. His subsequent career-track has been as an academic economist and public policy analyst. 

Professor Walsh has held professorial appointments at the University of Adelaide and the Australian National University and visiting appointments at universities in Canada, the USA and the UK. His teaching, research, publications and advisory specialities have featured in public sector economics and public policy; regulatory theory and its application to economic, social and environmental issues; economic and social evaluation of public sector programs and regulatory regimes; and intergovernmental economic, political and administrative relations. 

Professor Walsh has also been an advisor to a Prime Minister and State Premiers; an Associate Commissioner for several Productivity Commission Inquiries; an expert advisor to the European Commission and the World Bank; a member of numerous committees of inquiry into public sector policies and programs; and a member of the Australian Competition Tribunal, which reviews appeals on decisions of Australia’s competition regulator, the ACCC. He is currently Emeritus Professor of Economics, and a (honorary) Visiting Research Fellow in the School of Economics, at the University of Adelaide.

Dr Linley Martin (part-time Commissioner)

Lin Martin TEQSA Commissioner

Dr Lin Martin was the Head of University Services and Vice-Principal (Major Projects) at the University of Melbourne, where she had also held the position of Vice Principal and Academic Registrar. Dr Martin has an extensive knowledge of, and experience in, Australian higher education.  

Dr Martin was Vice President and Council Secretary at Deakin University and has held numerous other senior positions at the University of New South Wales, RMIT University, Flinders University and the University of South Australia. 

During her career, Dr Martin was also a senior advisor to the Review of Australian Higher Education (the Bradley Review) which was pivotal to the establishment of TEQSA. As well as being a part-time Commissioner at TEQSA, Dr Martin is also the part-time Ombuds at RMIT University and an independent reviewer of unresolved student and staff complaints. She has completed her PhD on Using assessment of student learning outcomes to measure university performance at the University of Melbourne.

Chief Executive Officer

Anthony McClaran

Anthony McClaran TEQSA CEO

Before joining TEQSA in October 2015, Anthony was Chief Executive at the UK’s Quality Assurance Agency (QAA) and Chief Executive at the UK’s Universities and Colleges Admissions Service (UCAS).

A graduate in English and American Literature from the University of Kent, Anthony began his career at the University of Warwick  as an Admissions Officer. In 1992 he moved to the University of Hull to take up the post of Academic Registrar, with responsibility for recruitment, admissions, student records, international affairs and academic resource allocation. In 1995 he was appointed Acting Registrar and Secretary.

Anthony was a member of the Board of the European Association for Quality Assurance in Higher Education (ENQA) and is now a co-opted member of the Board of the International Network for Quality Assurance Agencies in Higher Education (INQAAHE). He has held a number of governance roles at all levels of education and was Chair of Council and Pro-Chancellor of the University of Gloucestershire from 2007 to 2009.

Senior Management Team

The Commission is supported by a Senior Management Team (SMT) comprising the Chief Executive Officer and senior managers. SMT is responsible for the management of our regulatory business, corporate processes and people.

Organisation structure


TEQSA organisational structure