Acts and standards

The following acts and standards govern Australian higher education.

Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Act 2011

The TEQSA Act established us as Australia’s national quality assurance and regulatory agency for higher education. It applies for regulation of higher education through a standards-based quality framework with principles relating to regulatory necessity, risk and proportionality.

Higher Education Standards Framework (Threshold Standards) 2021 (HES Framework)

The Threshold Standards apply to all higher education providers. Set by the Minister for Education on the advice of a panel with expertise in the delivery of higher education, they are the minimum level of achievement that a provider must meet and maintain to be registered to deliver higher education courses of study.

Education Services for Overseas Students Act 2000 (ESOS Act)

The ESOS Act applies to providers offering courses to students in Australia on student visas. These include higher education courses, Foundation Programs (except those delivered by schools), and ELICOS programs delivered by higher education providers.

National Code of Practice for Providers of Education and Training to Overseas Students 2018 (National Code 2018)

The National Code 2018 is a set of nationally consistent standards that protect international students. The National Code governs courses registered on the Commonwealth Register of Institutions and Courses for Overseas Students (CRICOS). Only CRICOS courses can be offered to international students studying in Australia on a student visa.

Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF)

The AQF is the national policy for regulated qualifications in Australian education and training. It is delivered through the Australian Government Department of Education in consultation with the states and territories.

Last updated: