Provider Category Change 1 July 2021

Provider: University of Divinity (formerly Melbourne College of Divinity)

Provider category change

Report on provider category change and imposition of registration condition for University of Divinity

On 1 July 2021, TEQSA:

Changed, under section 38 of the Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency Act 2011 (TEQSA Act), the provider category of University of Divinity from Australian University of Specialisation to Australian University.

Imposed, under section 32 of the TEQSA Act, the following condition on the University of Divinity's registration:

Condition 1

The University of Divinity may only self-accredit courses in the following broad field of education:

a. 09 Society and Culture.

Main reasons for the decision

TEQSA made the decision on the provider category in order to register University of Divinity in one of the four categories available under the Higher Education Standards Framework (Threshold Standards) 2021. This decision was made on the basis that TEQSA is satisfied that University of Divinity meets the applicable category standards.

TEQSA made the decision to impose the condition in order to clarify the scope of University of Divinity's self-accrediting authority, as an Australian University with a specialised focus.

These decisions are reviewable decisions under section 183 of the TEQSA Act.

Further information

Information on TEQSA's regulatory approach and public reporting is available at