Accreditation 14 June 2016

Provider: Sheridan College Inc.

Course: Diploma of Science

Course accreditation

Report on accreditation of three higher education courses of study offered by Sheridan College Inc

A delegate of TEQSA has accredited, under section 49 of the Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency Act 2011 (the TEQSA Act), the following higher education courses of study offered by Sheridan College Inc for a period of three years until 14 June 2019:

  • Diploma of Arts
  • Diploma of Business
  • Diploma of Science

TEQSA has, under subsection 53(1) of the TEQSA Act, imposed one condition on the accreditation of the above courses of study.

Condition 1:

Sheridan College provide to TEQSA revised course documentation as approved by the Academic Council to demonstrate consideration of the TEQSA Expert reports, in particular:

  • to clearly present the structure, delivery methods, assessment approaches and student workload requirements, and show that the courses have an overall coherence for delivery in trimester teaching periods
  • that assessment tasks for the project unit provide opportunities for students to demonstrate achievement of the expected student learning outcomes regardless of their trimester of intake into the diploma course

The course accreditation covers delivery at the following location:

  • Sheridan College, Aberdeen Street Perth WA 6000

Main reasons for decision

TEQSA considers that the decision to apply a condition to Sheridan College Inc's application for accreditation of three courses of study is consistent with the basic principles for regulation in Part 2 of the TEQSA Act, as Sheridan College Inc is at risk of not complying with a number of the Threshold Standards. TEQSA considers that the risks of non-compliance with the Threshold Standards involve a number of matters that may affect Sheridan College Inc's capacity to manage and deliver its higher education awards.

  • The broad issues which relate to the Diploma of Arts, Diploma of Business and Diploma of Science include PCAS 1.2, and 5.1 (in relation to design of a course of study).