Go to top of page

Applying to change provider category

Person working on phone sitting at table


The Higher Education Standards Framework (Threshold Standards) 2021 (HES Framework) makes provision for the following provider categories:

  • Institute of Higher Education
  • University College
  • Australian University
  • Overseas University.

Registered higher education providers can apply to change the category in which they are registered under Section 38 of the TEQSA Act. Under the provisions of Section 38, TEQSA can also change the category in which a provider is registered.

There is no requirement for a registered provider to change category. All providers become ‘registered higher education providers’ in accordance with the TEQSA Act.

An existing registered higher education provider can apply for a change of provider registration category by completing and submitting the relevant application form. Applications must be on the approved form, include all information requested, and be accompanied by the applicable fee and payment/invoice form. See more information on our fees page.

All applications are subject to an assessment process, which will have regard to the provider’s ability to meet the requirements of the HES Framework, including the particular provider category applied for.

Before submitting

It is essential that applicants read the relevant application guide before submitting an application. The application guide explains the process, and gives indicative information about the evidence that will need to be submitted with each application.

Application guides can be accessed at our Application guides and support page.

Application forms

Application forms are available from TEQSA’s Provider Portal. For samples of the forms found on the Provider Portal, contact enquiries [at] teqsa.gov.au.