Go to top of page

TEQSA welcomes HESP appointments

29 March 2018

The Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA) has welcomed the appointment of new members to the Higher Education Standards Panel (HESP), including for the first time, student representation.

The new members of the HESP, announced by Minister for Education and Training Simon Birmingham today, include new Chair Professor Ian O’Connor AC, Deputy Chair Professor Kerri-Lee Krause, Dr Don Owers AM, Adrienne Nieuwenhuis, Sadie Heckenberg and Professor Kent Anderson.

The new members join the Hon Phil Honeywood and Dr Krystal Evans who have been reappointed.

TEQSA CEO Anthony McClaran said that he was looking forward to working with the new members and congratulated them on their appointments.

"TEQSA and the HESP have always enjoyed a close relationship, and I look forward to working with the new members to improve the quality and standards of Australia’s higher education sector", said Mr McClaran.

TEQSA has also thanked outgoing HESP members, Professor Peter Shergold AC, Professor Alan Robson AO, Professor Greg Craven and Karen Thomas for their distinguished work, which included overseeing the introduction of the new Higher Education Standards Framework and reviewing the impact of the TEQSA Act on the higher education sector.

More information

Media enquiries

Raphael May, Assistant Director, Communications: raphael.may [at] teqsa.gov.au, 0437 143 012 or (03) 8306 2536.