Go to top of page

TEQSA conference wraps up

1 December 2017

The Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency’s (TEQSA) conference has wrapped up in Melbourne today after over 70 presentations, keynote addresses and panel discussions. In only its second year, the conference attracted 800 delegates including almost 100 higher education students. 

Delegates heard from thought leaders, policy makers and students on a range of issues facing the sector, including what’s in store for the future both here in Australia and internationally. 

Presenters of note included Professor Marnie Hughes-Warrington, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Academic, of the Australian National University; Emeritus Professor Kwong Lee Dow, Patron of the Higher Education Quality Network; Andrew Norton, Higher Education Program Director at the Grattan Institute; Professor Peter Shergold, Chair of the Higher Education Standards Panel; and Professor Nick Saunders, Chief Commissioner of TEQSA.

TEQSA chief executive Anthony McClaran said that the conference provided attendees with a unique opportunity to not only engage with colleagues from other higher education providers, but also with TEQSA staff.

“Our second conference truly lived up to its themes of quality, students and success” said Mr. McClaran.

"The attendance of so many from across higher education – staff, students and policy makers – is a strong indication of the importance of high quality and student success to our higher education providers".

Presentations over the three days covered everything from the financial realities of the higher education sector, to whether higher education is meeting industry challenges. Students also featured prominently in the conference sessions with representatives from higher education providers offering unique input to discussions.

The third and final day of the conference featured almost 50 concurrent sessions in line with the conference’s themes of students, quality and success. Winners were chosen in line with these themes and announced at the conference dinner. Winners included:

  • Dr. Sara Booth, University of Tasmania: A cost-effective solution for external referencing of accredited courses of study (Quality)
  • Assistant Professor Gesa Ruge and Associate Professor Corolie McCormack, University of Canberra: Understanding how students develop their skills for employability (Students)
  • Maria Spies and Dr. Margot McNeill, Navitas: Holistic curriculum transformation: A scalable model for student success (Success).

More information