Go to top of page

TEQSA commissioners reappointed

7 February 2018

The Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA) has announced the reappointment of its three Commissioners, Professor Nick Saunders AO, Dr Lin Martin and Professor Cliff Walsh.

The decision to reappoint all three members of the Commission, made by the Minister for Education and Training, Simon Birmingham, sees Professor Saunders continuing as the agency’s Chief Commissioner, with Dr Martin and Professor Walsh staying on as Commissioners.

Professor Saunders said the decision to reappoint all members of the TEQSA Commission provided the agency with much needed continuity, and would ensure that TEQSA’s regulatory work and role in protecting the reputation of Australian higher education could continue unabated.

The decision to reappoint the Commissioners sees the agency retain extensive knowledge and experience in Australian higher education, with Professor Saunders awarded an Order of Australia for his service to medicine and higher education, Dr Martin playing a key role in the Bradley Review and Professor Walsh acting as an advisor to a Prime Minister and State Premiers.

The Commissioners’ terms of appointment have been staggered to ensure continuity and stability within TEQSA, with Professor Saunders’ term spanning three years, Dr Martin’s spanning two years and Professor Walsh’s spanning four years.

Working with TEQSA’s CEO and senior management team, the Commissioners are responsible for the agency’s regulatory decisions, setting strategic directions, monitoring risk in the sector and deciding on matters relating to the development of the agency’s quality assurance and regulatory functions.

More information

Media enquiries

Raphael May, Assistant Director, Communications: raphael.may [at] teqsa.gov.au, 0437 143 012 or (03) 8306 2536