Higher Education Standards Framework 2011

The Higher Education Standards Framework (Threshold Standards) 2015 (HES Framework) replaced the Higher Education Standards Framework (Threshold Standards) 2011 on 1 January 2017. All applications received after 1 January 2017 are assessed against the HES Framework.

TEQSA established a Standards Transition Reference Group prior to the transition to the HES Framework, which provided advice on the transition approach and strategies, with particular reference to the impact of the HES Framework on all higher education providers.

The Reference group consisted of:

  • Chair (Former TEQSA CEO, Mr Anthony McClaran)
  • Representatives from:
    • Universities Australia
    • ACPET
    • COPHE
    • TAFE Directors Australia
    • IEAA
    • The inaugural HESP
    • The Department of Education and Training

During April - May 2016, we ran a series of provider roundtables around Australia. The roundtables allowed us to update providers on the implementation of streamlined assessment approaches introduced during 2015, and outline and discuss our approach to implementing the HES Framework.

Last Updated:

13 Oct 2022