Other provider categories

The Higher Education Standards Framework (Threshold Standards) 2015 makes provision for the following provider categories:

  • Higher Education Provider
  • Australian University
  • Australian University College
  • Australian University of Specialisation
  • Overseas University
  • Overseas University of Specialisation

Section 38 of the TEQSA Act provides that a registered higher education provider may apply to TEQSA to change the category in which the provider is registered. TEQSA may also change the category in which a provider is registered on its own initiative.

An existing registered higher education provider can apply for a change of provider registration category by completing and submitting the relevant application form.

There is no requirement for a provider currently registered with TEQSA to change provider category. All providers registered with TEQSA become ‘registered higher education providers’ in accordance with the TEQSA Act.

All applications will be subject to an assessment process which will have regard to the provider’s ability to meet the requirements of the Threshold Standards, including of the particular provider category applied for.

Applications must be on the approved form, include all information requested by TEQSA, and must be accompanied by the approved fee and Payment/Invoice Form.

The relevant forms and guides for changing provider category are on the forms and guides page. More information about the requirements to meet in order to change provider category are detailed in the relevant guide document.

For information about changing provider category,  contact your Case Manager or enquiries@teqsa.gov.au.